About the Center


The idea for a building that would be a focus of the community was in the minds of the people for many, many years. Everyone wanted a place where large numbers could assemble to worship, fellowship, and have wholesome entertainment.

The Building Fund was established in 1988 for the purpose of purchasing land to erect the center. Forty acres of land were purchased on 220 South Main Street. On November 29, 1992, the “Burning of the Mortgage” ceremony was held.  The land was ours.

The ground breaking ceremony for the center was conducted on October 15, 2005, with all eighteen churches represented, along with state, federal and local officials present. August 6, 2006, the dedication of The Pigg River Community Center was held.

The Center consists of a commercial kitchen, dining area, meeting rooms, bathrooms, an office, and a large auditorium that will seat 700 individuals and 325 for a banquet.

This project is truly a dream come true and we are certain that we could not have accomplished this goal had not our Lord Jesus Christ been with us. Our prayer is that the Lord will continue to bless us and strengthen our community.

We celebrated the 10th Anniversary  of the Pigg River Community Center on October 30, 2016.  It was a “Long Journey But We Made It!!”

On Oct. 28, 2017, we celebrated the 11th Anniversary, with a banquet and concert by “The Sensational Nightingales”. On Oct. 29, 2017, a mortgage-burning ceremony was held.  “Look What the Lord has Done!”

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors for the Center was organized September 2011.


Deacon Wallace Menefee, President
Antioch Baptist Church  

Sis Linda Coger, Vice President                                                                                             

Finance Committee

  Brenda Taylor, Treasurer                                                              

 Brenda Holland, Assistant Treasurer

Florella Johnson, Auditor

Joyce Cobbs, Secretary

Janalden Taylor, Financial Secretary

Other Board Members

Sis Yvonne Patterson     Antioch Baptist Church

Dea. Raymond Brown     Bellevue Baptist Church

Dea. Wendell Smith      Beulah Baptist Church

Sis Lisa Mackenhimer  Castleview Baptist Church

Sis Roberta Carter   Chestnut Grove Baptist Church

Sis Linda Coger-Coles Creek Baptist Church

 Sis Sylvia Menefee   First Baptist Church

Sis Alice Clayborne   First Mt. Airy Baptist Church  

Sis Josephine Edwards  Macedonia Baptist Church

Bro William Helm  Morningside Baptist Church

Dea. Joseph Cobbs  Truevine Baptist Church

Sis Luci C. Thomas- At large Member

Sis Judy Muse- At Large Member